Ever since I saw the recipe for one ingredient ice cream over at The Kitchn, I have been wanting to try this frozen treat. A few weeks ago I had my first taste of Ben and Jerry’s Chunky Monkey ice cream (I have no idea how it’s taken me so long to try such a great flavor) and while eating I thought I could make my own verison using only three ingredients: frozen bananas, walnuts, and chocolate.

To make the ice cream there is a tutorial over at The Kitchn. You will need two bananas and a blender or food processor.

You will also need walnuts and chunks of chocolate (this is CHUNKY monkey afterall).

Okay, let’s get started.

Grab two bananas.

Peel and slice the bananas into coins.

Both bananas have been peeled and sliced.

Place sliced bananas in the freezer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Note: Not my frozen dinner, bleh, it's the husband's.

Meanwhile grab some walnuts.

Grab a chocolate bar...

and a hammer and pound the chocolate into chunks.

Now that the chocolate bar has become a pile of chocolate chunks...

Fast forward about 2 hours later: Now let's grab the bananas from the freezer.

Drop the sliced banana into a blender and blend on high.

After a few minutes and some poking and prodding with a fork, the bananas turn into a smooth and creamy consistency.

One ingredient ice cream!

Note: The ice cream right out of the blender was a bit soupy so I placed it in the freezer for a few extra hours. After that I was able to scoop the ice cream into a bowl.

Three ingredient chunky monkey ice cream

You can add the other two ingredients whenever you’d like. I chose to stir them in right after blending.

Now this recipe is probably not for everyone since there is a strong banana flavor. But if you enjoy the three ingredients I say give it a try! It is easy and inexpensive and hey, maybe you’ll find a new frozen treat to enjoy!

Have you tried one-ingredient ice cream? Any questions, suggestions, or other comments you have? Leave me a comment below.

