Have you ever had a Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich from Panera Bread?

Here is my homemade version.

Grab some vegetables. Tomatoes, cucumbers, and red slices are a great place to start.

Smear spicy cilantro hummus on two pieces of wheat bread.

Put sandwich together and eat.

Would you like the recipe for the hummus?

Okay, I cheated a little. Instead of making my own hummus from scratch, I picked up already-made hummus at the store and then added spices. Of course you could can do the same or make your own hummus at home.

To make spicy cilantro hummus you will need one or two jalapeños and a handful of cilantro (I bought a little container at the store and used all of it  – I’d say 1/2 to 3/4 cup). Place both ingredients and hummus into a blender and blend until smooth. You may need to put more olive oil into the mix to get things moving. I added some more minced garlic for a boost of flavor.

This is a great spread! I used two jalapeños and it was the right amount of spice for me. The hummus tasted better the next day and stays good in the refrigerator for a week.

Upon making this spicy hummus I found a second use for it – as a salad dressing. I don’t like the tangy taste of most salad dressing and this hummus on top of romaine lettuce and some other sliced vegetables like red onions, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes and then sprinkled with feta cheese – it has become the only way I will eat a salad. So if you do not like traditional salad dressing try a flavored hummus instead; it might get you to eat your veggies (it did for me).

Okay on to other things, park-related things.

There is one lone goose in the park.

I like to think he is the cranky goose that no other geese wants to be around so he hangs out by himself.

But this is just a story and probably not true.

Also, look at this set of dinnerware I found at the thrift store for $5. Good find, no?

