I own rice cooker so when I want to  make rice I pour 1/2 cup of rice (I’m only feeding two!) and 1 and 1/2 cups water (I have finally learned that it is one part rice and three parts water; originally I thought it was 1:2). But my rice usually comes out still a little hard and swimming in white goop. And rice my way just does not taste as right as I’ve had before. Some tips I will try in the future:

1. Rinse the rice – I need to be diligent with this step for it can be easily overlooked. I always rinse pasta after it is cooked and drained so this is how I will approach rice but the other way around. Rinse first, cook later.

2. Let the rice rest – I guess rice needs a few moments of relaxation before you eat it so you should let it rest for about 5 minutes. If I do this in my rice cooker the rice will burn. I will have to transfer cooked rice to a bowl.

3. Sugar! – I add a little sugar to the pot to sweeten up the rice. I think it’s delicious. But there is a balance. Sigh, another thing to perfect.

So my question to you is what other ways do prepare rice? What rice do you use, what seasonings do you throw in, do you make the best damn rice in town? And if so leave a comment. I wants to hear about it.

M elissa

