Hello there! On Friday I said I would post pictures of my Chocolate Chip Banana Bread but the bananas are not brown enough. Sooo, I made a stir fry that I’ll share with you all.

Here’s everything you’ll need (except for the bananas).

All the ingredients

I chopped the two bell peppers and seeded them. The recipe didn’t call for pepper flakes but I added them to add a little more spice. There is probably about 1 teaspoon of seeds on the cutting board.

Red/Yellow Peppers

Then I grated the orange.

Grated Orange Peel

And a squeezed some fresh orange juice.

Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice

After cutting the meat into thin strips and combining the orange zest and juice, wine, soy sauce and cornstarch the meat sits and marinates in the orange sauce.

Beef in Orange Sauce

The peppers are cooking in the skillet with some olive oil.

Peppers

The finished product

StirFry2

This was my first time making this recipe. The beef and peppers tasted great, but the orange sauce was a little bland. I was really surprised because I thought that the sauce was going to be overpowering but not many of the flavors came out as I had expected. This recipe was originally found here and I tweaked some of the ingredients. I will probably make this dish again in a few weeks and tweak it even more. When I do I’ll post it immediately!

Beef and Peppers with Orange Sauce (original recipe found here; my version below)

1 navel orange

1/4 cups dry red wine

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 pound beef eye round steaks, thinly sliced

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 red and/or orange peppers, thinly sliced and seeded

cooked white rice

Directions:

Grate 1 teaspoon of orange peel and squeeze 1/3 cup of its juice. Combine orange zest and juice, wine, soy sauce, and cornstarch in a large bowl and add beef; toss then set aside. In a skillet heat 1 teaspoon olive oil on medium-high heat until hot then add peppers with about 1 teaspoon of seeds and 3 tablespoons of water and cook about 5 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Transfer to a large bowl. In same skillet heat remaining 2 teaspoon of olive oil on and with a slotted spoon transfer half of beef to skillet. Cook beef about 1 minutes, stirring frequently then transfer beef to to bowl with peppers. Repeat with remaining beef. Add 1/4 cup of water and leftover juice to skillet and heat to boiling. Boil 1 minute. Drizzle orange sauce over beef, peppers, and rice.

Again, the original recipe is Orange Beef and Pepper Stir Fry.

In the next few weeks I’ll also post how to make a warm cinnamon applesauce in a rice cooker. Here’s a preview –

Applesauce

Check back this week for more recipes and more photos. Besides what I’ll be cooking in my kitchen I think I’ll start writing posts about other kitchen-related topics. Check back for more!

Goodnight,

Melissa

