Banana Bread

– I wanted show of all the flavors that are present in this bread hence the long title –

All right folks so the bread is in the oven right now. I woke up this morning and my husband had eaten the other banana. So I made the chocolate chip banana bread with one banana, lessened the amount of flour, added extra oats and some peanut butter.

Some other variations to the bread – sometimes I use half (3/4 cup) white flour and half (3/4 cup) whole wheat flour. I’ve also substituted blueberries for chocolate chips and it makes a delicious bread; I however enjoy it more with chocolate chips. Once I squeezed fresh lemon juice on the mashed bananas to sweeten them more – the taste didn’t not really come out in the bread.

Here’s the original recipe –

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Makes 1 loaf

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

2 medium (1 cup) bananas, mashed

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 salt

1/2 cup oats (optional)

2 – 3 tablespoons peanut butter (optional)

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour loaf pan (9x5x3) and set aside.

Combine sugar and butter in a large bowl. Beat (or stir) until creamy. Add eggs and continue beating until well mixed. Add bananas and vanilla, mix well. Stir in all remaining ingredients (flour, chocolate chips, baking soda, salt and oats and peanut butter if using).

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Let bread cool for a few minutes then place on a cooling rack. Wrap leftovers in plastic wrap and refrigerate.

The bread that is pictured has a couple tablespoons of crunchy peanut butter that was mixed into the dough before being cooked. It has a very subtle nutty flavor and I think anyone who likes to eat peanut butter sandwiches with banana (yum, I know I do) and who enjoys chocolate and peanut butter together (Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup anyone?) will definitely enjoy these three flavors together.

Enjoy!

M elissa

Milk and Bread

