This year I made Paula Dean’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake and Espresso Chocolate Chip Shortbread. Both were amazing!

The Pumpkin Gooey Butter cake, which is an original from St. Louis – my home town – tasted close to the real thing. I have never had variations of the gooey butter cake and this one was delicious. I prefer my gooey butter cake to be completely cooled before chowing down – even better tasting after the cake sat overnight. This cake doesn’t need to be refrigerated so it can sit on the dessert table all Thanksgiving day.

The Espresso Chocolate Chip Shortbread was the perfect after-dinner and coffee time companion. It wasn’t too sweet, it was soft and chocolate is always a winner in my book! I used strong brewed coffee instead of instant espresso powder the recipe called for and the coffee flavor didn’t real come out. I also made a double batch so there was plenty for everyone.

The Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake was a seasonal dessert but I can definitely see myself making the Espresso Chocolate Chip Shortbread year round because it’s a perfect dessert to share with friends and coffee.

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. If you’re out today stay safe during Black Friday, it can get crazy out there!

Enjoy the holiday,

M elissa

