Between Thanksgiving and Christmas people craze about holiday cookies. Just go to Martha Stewart and you’ll see 58 different cookies you can make for the holidays. In my book there is only two cookies to make during the holidays. The first is Sandies (which to some are also known as Russian Tea Cakes, Mexican Wedding Balls, or Snowbells) and the second is Snickerdoodles (which can also be called Snipdoodles or Cinnamon Sugar Cookies.) It can be easy to overlook a cookie as simple as the Snickerdoodle for all it really is is cookie dough rolled in a cinnamon-sugar mixture but they are oh-so soft and sweet. The thing I love about this recipe (which I got from Simply Recipes) is that it only makes one batch and this is good for me because I’m a cookie monster when it  comes to any sugary treat.

Snickerdoodles

Makes 12 – 18 cookies

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Cinnamon sugar mixture

1/2 cup sugar

3 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350º F.

2. Cream butter in a large bowl until soft, smooth and light.

3. Add both of the sugars to the creamed butter and mix.

4. Add salt. Add egg. Mix.

5. Add flour. Add cornstarch and baking soda and mix.

6. Form balls of dough with hand or spoon and coat with cinnamon sugar mixture.

7. On greased baking sheet, place balls. Flatten with the back of a spoon and sprinkle with more coating.

8. Cook for 7 minutes. Cool on wire baking rack.

Creamed butter, brown sugar and white sugar. I used this whipped butter that I got at the grocery store for a dollar so it was easy to work with than a stick of butter. Check out the recipe card my best friend got me – I love ’em!

Snickerdoodle dough with egg and salt. Did you know that you can use eggs up 3-5 weeks after their expiration date? I know this probably grosses out a lot of people but even the USDA says you can keep them for that long as long as they’re not cracked or they don’t smell funky. I assure you the egg seen in this picture was bought a week ago.

Cornstarch, baking soda, and flour added. This dough is soooo good. It tastes like homemade chocolate chip cookie dough before the chips are added. Mmmmm.

Cookie making station. Snickerdoodling will commence in T-3 seconds.

Formed Snickerdoodle. He’s just hanging out in this cinnamon sugar mixture. I wonder if he knows he’ll be in my tummy soon.

Snickerdoodles just waiting to be flattened.

Cookies are ready to go to the oven after they are sprinkled with a little more cinnamon sugar.

Out of the oven and delicious. If you like your cookies soft I wouldn’t leave these in no more than 7 minutes – if you start leaving them in the oven longer they can become hard quick.

There you have it – my second favorite holiday cookie! What’s your’s?

M elissa

