I made a pizza that is on Pioneer Woman’s website. It is a Caramelized Onion & Prosciutto Pizza. Here it is.

Spread olive oil, grated Parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese onto some pizza dough.

Top the pizza with caramelized onions…

and prosciutto. Bake at 500 degrees for 15 – 18 minutes.

Slice and eat.

This is a different kind of pizza and I like it. The onions were surprisingly sweet and if I were to make this pizza again I would probably lessen the amount of brown sugar on the onions. Or I might swap the brush of olive oil on the pizza dough and the caramelized onions for a sweet marinara sauce. Mmm, my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

I think PW’s Prosciutto and Onion Pizza is a great alternative to what I traditionally eat and it is also a great pizza to play around with by swapping out ingredients and adding your own flair to it.

To make this pizza I used my own pizza dough recipe that is very similar to PW’s. I would give you the recipe but I make it differently every time, sometimes with more water, sometimes with more flour – it is probably best to stick with PW’s recipe or your own. The only tip I will give about pizza dough (because any time you are using yeast it can be so damn finicky!) is after the dough had been mixed, kneaded, and left to rise and then you shape the dough into a crust – let the pizza crust rest for  2 to 3 hours. PW mentions that sometimes she will let the dough sit for 2 to 3 days – I have yet to try this. But I have noticed the difference even an extra hour or two makes. Usually when I am making any kind of dough I give a 3 and 1/2 hour time frame from when I start mixing to out of the oven, ready to eat. When I made PW’s Prosciutto and Onion pizza I let the dough rise a second time for 2 to 3 hours and the dough was lighter and spongy – not as heavy and hard as many pizza crusts I’ve made in the past have been.

The recipe is below, which can also be found on Pioneer Woman’s website. Also at the link is a recipe for pizza dough, if needed.

Ingredients:
  • 1 whole Pizza Crust
  • Olive Oil, For Drizzling
  • 1 whole Large Red Onion, Halved And Thinly Sliced
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • Kosher Salt To Taste
  • Parmesan Cheese, Grated
  • 10 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, Thinly Sliced
  • 8 slices Prosciutto (more To Taste)
Directions:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Pour 2 tablespoons of olive oil into a large skillet and heat on medium-high heat. Add onions and brown sugar to hot skillet and stir. Let heat for several minutes or until onions are caramelized or brown and cooked throughly. Set aside.

Grab a large cooking sheet and spray with cooking spray or sprinkle with corn meal. Roll out pizza dough onto the rectangle cooking sheet and spread thin into the corners so you have a nice flat rectangle-shaped pizza dough. Drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle on some salt, and a generous portion of grated Parmesan cheese.

Slice a block of mozzarella cheese and lay the slices upon the pizza dough. Grab the now-cooled caramelized onions and spread upon the dough. Grab the prosciutti and lay whole slices all over the dough. Sprinkle with some more Parmesan cheese if desired.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the lower half of the oven, or until crust is golden brown. Remove from oven and cut into squares. Serve immediately.