It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. I’ve still been cooking and have actually made some new dishes but I haven’t had time to photograph and post what I’ve been up to in the kitchen. I decided to make a focaccia bread this afternoon and it looked wonderful and I had some extra time so I took some pictures to share with you.

Since I posted last – I got a bread machine *cheers*! Some friends accidentally received two bread machines as wedding gifts and decided to give me their second. I was so excited and have been in a bread making frenzy since. I’ve made a country white loaf, cinnamon rolls, breadsticks, pizza crust, and focaccia. Below is the recipe for focaccia – if you own or have used a bread machine you know how to put the ingredients in the machine and set the cycle on a dough setting. If you are making this dough by hand, it is just like an other bread recipe – mix, shape and rise.Go here if you need more help.

Focaccia

Makes one 14 inch crust

1 cup water

1 tablespoon olive oil

3 cups bread OR all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon sugar

2 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast

Directions

After the dough has mixed and risen, punch dough to remove air bubbles. Set on floured surface and roll into a sheet about 15 by 9 inches and place on a greased cookie sheet. Using you fingers, poke the surface to dimple the focaccia. Cover and let rise for 15 minutes. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with shredded red onion and shredded cheese (I used a blend of Asiago, Parmesan, and Romano)  or you can use other desired toppings. Bake in 375 º F oven for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from baking sheet to cool. Serve warm or cool.

A tasty companion to focaccia is marinara sauce. Here’s recipe I use to make sauce for pasta but it tastes good with this flatbread too.

Marinara Sauce

Makes about 3 cups

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1can (28 ounce) crushed tomatoes

Sugar, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil to taste

Optional: add cooked ground beef or turkey

Directions

In a skillet, heat oil over medium high heat until hot. Add onion and cook until tender, stirring occasionally (about 5 minutes). Stir in garlic and cook 1 minute. Stir in crushed tomatoes and spices; heat to boiling over high heat. Reduce heat to medium to cook, stirring occasionally, 15 to 30 minutes  (depending on your taster; the longer the boil, the stronger the taste). Serve over breads or pasta; save leftovers in fridge.

This is a great flat bread to serve when you have company over. Enjoy!

M elissa